The Government of India has taken significant initiatives for heritage conservation in the country. Through the Ministry of Culture, in coordination with the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), the government has devised various schemes to promote the country’s rich heritage. The ASI is the central government’s body that functions for conservation and maintenance of heritage structures. It is the think-tank of the central government in the context of heritage development and its maintenance throughout the country. Its primary objective is to focus on the holistic development of cities rich in heritage. Its intent is to preserve and revitalise the soul of heritage cities in an attempt to reflect their unique character. The authority visions to do so by encouraging aesthetically appealing, accessible, informative and secure environment.


The proposal for ‘Adopt a Heritage’ is an initiative by the Ministry of Culture. It has received appreciation from throughout the country. The scheme was initiated in an effort to entrust the responsibilities of heritage sites and structures to interested organizations and individuals. These organizations could include public as well as private sector companies for the development of tourism amenities.  Such organizations and individuals are titled as ‘Monument Mitras.’ The companies shortlisted to fit in the title of Monument Mitras belong to the sector of hospitality, travel, banking along with an international school.


The Ministry of Culture in December affirmed the adoption of 10 monuments from all over the country under the Adopt a Heritage scheme. The list of heritage buildings for adoption primitively included 93 structures. They were categorically segregated into two segments based on footfall and visibility which was put up by the Ministry of Tourism. The Tourism Minister, Alphons quoted that this scheme is their attempt to involve the community in preserving and restoring their heritage by allowing them to adopt it. From this elaborated list, the decision-making body has completed the formalities for legal adoption for 10 monuments. The Monument Mitras have signed the Memorandum of Understanding for the same. As part of the scheme, there are three phases with active projects under adoption.


According to the Ministry of Culture, the ten adopted heritage sites and monuments are as listed below:

  1. Red Fort (Delhi)
  2. Gandikota Fort (Andhra Pradesh)
  3. Leh Palace (Leh, Jammu & Kashmir)
  4. Jantar Mantar (Delhi)
  5. Surajkund (Haryana)
  6. The area around Gangotri Temple (Uttarakhand)
  7. Mount Stok Kangri Trek (Ladakh)
  8. Hazara Rama Temple (Hampi, Karnataka)
  9. Qutub Minar (Delhi)
  10. Ajanta Caves (Maharashtra)

Leave Comments