305 cities and towns identified under Housing for All scheme


Under this urban housing mission, central government will provide an assistance in the range of Rs 1.00 lakh to Rs 2.30 lakh per house under different components of the Scheme including In-situ redevelopment of slums using land as resource, Credit linked Subsidy Scheme, Affordable Housing in Partnership and Beneficiary led individual construction / improvement.

With the announcement of lists under Smart City Mission, AMRUT and Housing for All, there has been a clear convergence of implementation of the three schemes. The nine States that have identified 305 cities for housing for urban poor, also account for 26 smart cities and 136 AMRUT cities. Of these, smart city mission, AMRUT and Housing Missions will be implemented in 25 smart city aspirants enabling convergence of schemes and resources of State and Central governments.A? In 136 AMRUT cities, housing projects will also be undertaken.

In case of Telangana, both the smart city aspirants of Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporations and Warangal, AMRUT and Housing missions will be implemented. Similarly, in other AMRUT cities of Adilabad, Karimnagar, Khammam, Mahaboobabad, Miryalaguda, Nalgonada, Nizamabad and Suryapet, Housing for All mission will be implemented resulting in convergence.

Minister of Urban Development and Housing & Urban Poverty Alleviation M Venkaiah Naidu has welcomed this convergence. He said, This convergence of urban schemes helps in better utilisation of resources resulting in visible improvement in urban areas. I am glad that state governments are resorting to convergence based approach as intended by the central government.