The state government of Andhra Pradesh has decided to turn six municipal towns into smart cities.

Under the chairmanship of Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu, the state cabinet has given its approval to transform Srikakulam, Eluru, Ongole, Nellore, Kurnool and Anantapur into smart cities.

As per sources, the move to upgrade the six urban civic bodies into smart cities was well thought-out to garner central funds.

Visakhapatnam, Kakinada and Tirupati have already been selected for the Smart City project of the Union government and funds for development of these cities would be entirely borne by the Centre.

Following the cabinet meeting, municipal administration minister P Narayana said that the government had decided to change the face of six towns.

There is a dire need for acceleration of urban development in a phased manner and developing six smart cities will serve this purpose, he said. The government plans to set up special purpose vehicles (SPVs) to channelise funds for these new smart cities. Separate SPVs would be set up for each of the smart cities and funds will be generated for developing them in a systematic manner, the minister said. elavil 10 mg.

With the state government stepping up developmental activities in both Vijayawada and Guntur as part of the capital city development project, almost all the cities in central and south coastal districts have been covered under the Smart Cities programme. A?